Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In


Ski Resort Life

2002 U.S. Alpine Team Announced


Get full access to Outside Learn, our online education hub featuring in-depth fitness, nutrition, and adventure courses and more than 2,000 instructional videos when you sign up for Outside+ Sign up for Outside+ today.

PARK CITY, Utah — May 12 — World champion DaronRahlves, first-time World Cup winner Kirsten Clark and 13 other Olympians,including defending super G gold medalist Picabo Street, headline an extremelydeep 29-member U.S. Alpine Ski Team named last Saturday for the coming Olympicseason.

The Olympic Ski Team will be announced on Monday, January 28, 2002.

The ’02 Ski Team, which includes 13 men and 16 women, is perhaps the deepest squad in history. Last season, an unprecendented 20 U.S. skiers scored points on the World Cup tour and U.S. skiers collected seven podium finishes.

Rahlves, who won back-to-back World Cup downhills a year earlier, electrified the racing world last season when hecaptured the super G gold medal at the World Alpine Ski Championships in St. Anton, Austria. He heads a13-member team for next season that includes Erik Schlopy (Park City, UT), who had the finest U.S. men’s giantslalom results since 1983; the group includes seven skiers with Olympic experience.

On the women’s side, Clark, who had the fastest downhill time in the combined event at the World Championshipsand then won a downhill in Lenzerheide, Switzerland, and Street are among a group that includes eight Olympians.

A Team

Daron Rahlves (27; Sugar Bowl, Calif.; ’98 Olympian)
Erik Schlopy (28; Park City, Utah; ’94 Olympian)
Chad Fleischer (29; Vail, Colo. ’94, ’98 Olympian)
Bode Miller (23; Franconia, N.H.; ’98 Olympian)

Kirsten Clark (24; Raymond, Maine; ’98 Olympian)
Picabo Street (30; Park City, Utah; ’94, ’98 Olympian)
Megan Gerety (29; Anchorage, Alaska; ’92, ’94 Olympian)
Caroline Lalive (22; Steamboat Springs, Colo.; ’98 Olympian)
Jonna Mendes (22; Heavenly, Calif.; ’98 Olympian)
Sarah Schleper (23; Vail, Colo.; ’98 Olympian)
Katie Monahan (28; Aspen, Colo.; ’98 Olympian)

B Team

Jake Fiala (26 on May 24; Frisco, Colo.)
Sacha Gros (26; Vail, Colo.; ’98 Olympian)
Chip Knight (26; New Canaan, Conn.; ’98 Olympian)
Casey Puckett (30; Aspen, Colo.; ’92, ’94, ’98 Olympian)
Scott Macartney (23; Redmond, Wash.)
Tom Rothrock (23 on May 29; Cashmere, Wash.)
Dane Spencer (23; Boise, Id.)
Marco Sullivan (21; Tahoe City, Calif.)
Thomas Vonn (25; Newburgh, N.Y.)

Alison Powers (21; Winter Park, Colo.)
Julia Mancuso (17; Squaw Valley, Calif.)
Lindsey C. Kildow (17; Vail, Colo.)
Alex Shaffer (25; Park City, Utah; ’98 Olympian).

C Team

Tatum Skoglund (22; Bellevue, Wash.)
Courtney Calise (21; Littleton, N.H.)
Hilary McCloy (18; Waitsfield, VTt.)
Libby Ludlow (19; Bellevue, Wash.)
Kristen Mielke (18; Dillon, Colo.)
Lauren Ross (19, Stowe, Vt.).

For more information on the U.S. Ski Team, check out