29 Named to U.S. Alpine Ski Team


Park City, Utah -- May 12, 2001 (U.S. Ski Team) -- World champion DaronRahlves, first-time World Cup winner Kirsten Clark and 13 other Olympians,including defending super G gold medalist Picabo Street, headline anextremely deep 29-member U.S. Alpine Ski Team named Saturday for the comingOlympic season.

The Olympic Ski Team will be announced Monday, January 28, 2002.

The '02 Ski Team, which includes 13 men and 16 women, is perhaps the deepestsquad in history. Last season, an unprecedented 20 U.S. skiers scoredpoints on the World Cup tour and U.S. skiers collected seven podiumfinishes.

Rahlves, who won back-to-back World Cup downhills a year earlier,electrified the racing world last season when he captured the super G goldmedal at the World Alpine Ski Championships in St. Anton, Austria. He headsa 13-member team for next season that includes Erik Schlopy (Park City, UT),who had the finest U.S. men's giant slalom results since 1983; the groupincludes seven skiers with Olympic experience.

On the women's side, Clark, who had the fastest downhill time in thecombined event at the World Championships and then won a downhill inLenzerheide, Switzerland, and Street are among a group that includes eightOlympians.

A Team
Daron Rahlves (27; Sugar Bowl, Calif.; '98 Olympian)
Erik Schlopy (28; Park City, Utah; '94 Olympian)
Chad Fleischer (29; Vail, Colo. '94, '98 Olympian)
Bode Miller (23; Franconia, N.H.; '98 Olympian)

Kirsten Clark (24; Raymond, Maine; '98 Olympian)
Picabo Street (30; Park City, Utah; '94, '98 Olympian
Megan Gerety (29; Anchorage, Alaska; '92, '94 Olympian)
Caroline Lalive (22; Steamboat Springs, Colo.; '98 Olympian)
Jonna Mendes (22; Heavenly, Calif.; '98 Olympian)
Sarah Schleper (23; Vail, Colo.; '98 Olympian)
Katie Monahan (28; Aspen, Colo.; '98 Olympian)

B Team
Jake Fiala (26 on May 24; Frisco, Colo.)
Sacha Gros (26; Vail, Colo.; '98 Olympian)
Chip Knight (26; New Canaan, Conn.; '98 Olympian)
Casey Puckett (30; Aspen, Colo.; '92, '94, '98 Olympian)
Scott Macartney (23; Redmond, Wash.)
Tom Rothrock (23 on May 29; Cashmere, Wash.)
Dane Spencer (23; Boise, Id.)
Marco Sullivan (21; Tahoe City, Calif.)
Thomas Vonn (25; Newburgh, N.Y.)

Alison Powers (21; Winter Park, Colo.)
Julia Mancuso (17; Squaw Valley, Calif.)
Lindsey C. Kildow (17; Vail, Colo.)
Alex Shaffer (25; Park City, Utah; '98 Olympian).

C Team
Tatum Skoglund (22; Bellevue, Wash.)
Courtney Calise (21; Littleton, N.H.)
Hilary McCloy (18; Waitsfield, Vt.)
Libby Ludlow (19; Bellevue, Wash.)
Kristen Mielke (18; Dillon, Colo.)
Lauren Ross (19, Stowe, Vt.).