Olympians Highlight Opening Ceremonies at Sugarloaf


March 23, 2006

Sugarloaf, ME - (News Release) - The 2006 U.S. downhill champions will be crowned Saturday night during the Opening Ceremonies for the 2006 TD Banknorth U.S. Alpine Championships. Festivities kick off at 6:30 p.m. with traditional music from members of Maine's Penobscot Indian Nation. Bill Marolt, president and CEO of the U.S. Ski Team, will recognize outstanding athletes including Olympic gold medalists Ted Ligety and Julia Mancuso, U.S. Ski Team alumni and this year's national downhill champions.

Title sponsor TD Banknorth will give special recognition to New England athletes Kirsten Clark and Bode Miller, while Ski Racing Magazine will announce its 2006 Athlete of the Year. Maine's Governor John Baldacci has a conflicting appearance and will not be at the ceremonies as originally announced. The evening also will feature fireworks, an autograph session at 7:45 p.m. and a free concert at 8 p.m. with blues artist Jen Kearney, a native of Portland, Maine.

 For more details on the 2006 TD Banknorth U.S. Alpine Championships, visit the web at http://www.usskiteam.com/public/news.php?dId=2&sN=1&aId=2139.